Vancouver IslandUniversity




Student Leadership Circle

What is the Student Leadership Circle?

The Student Leadership Circle (SLC) is dedicated to leadership development and encouraging collaboration between student leaders on campus, through monthly workshops designed to target at least one relevant skill and/or VIU Graduate Attribute. We provide VIU students an opportunity to develop tools they can apply to their personal and professional lives. Using an evidence-based approach, we target the most underutilized graduate attributes and tailor our monthly workshops to this.




Connect. Reflect. Empower.

Co-Curricular Engagement Achievement Award

This award is presented to students by which have developed relevant skills through the VIU Graduate Attributes and have met the community engagement requirements outlined by the SLC. The students will obtain the following: a greater depth of knowledge and understanding of themselves, their peers and people; stronger connection with VIU’s leadership groups and the community at VIU; online recognition of co-curricular experience; and an ability to apply VIU Graduate Attributes to their professional life.




  • Attending all SLC Workshops - 6 hours (if meeting missed, to make up hours - contact Chair or Vice-Chair)
  • Reflection component of leadership experience - 1 hour
  • Volunteer on campus or within community 2 hours
  • Vancouver Island Leadership Conference 14 hours
  • Reflection of Leadership experience 1 hour



  • Each awardee will receive an official certificate of recognition and a Co-Curricular Record notation.
  • This is an opportunity for individuals to collaborate with others and build their networks.
  • Better equipped for professional settings, i.e interviews, presentations, etc.

Past Recipients

Past Recipients

Here is a list of some of our past recipients of the award:

Amber Lease, Amber Rose, Dhiya Joseph, Haeli Martens, Hailee McMillan, Joel Hampson, Jonah Ferguson, Madi Rosenau, Nikita DeSouza, Omar Espinoza, Payton Berrigan, Sean Pletz, Shelby McLean, Shoib Mohammed, Taylor LeBrun, Tiger Zhao, Victoria Ross, Dani Dan, Donald Louch, Gaurav Jethani, Sai Huynh.

Student Leaders


Natasha Ladouceur



Jaya Jayaram



For more information, please visit us on Instagram and Facebook or email us at